Rejectionary Art - Exocoetidae: Flying Fish (DIGITAL DOWNLOAD)

$ 9.99

This is a Digital Download. You will receive a .zip file containing 320kbps mp3s. 


Hard for me to describe it, but it’s “abstract” in the way Mr. Bungle’s Disco Volante is. It’s so weird and dense it scares me. This is not an album you can scrub through an audio player and go, “Yeah, OK, I get it.” There’s so much going on, it’s the kind of listening experience that requires a serious investment of time and attention. (I haven’t even listened to all of it, and here I am telling you why you should.)
You might remember Lee Wanner from Morgan Ågren’s Conundrum. He and his musical partner Paula Stefanini are mad scientist composers / sound sculptors on par with Devin Townsend and Trey Spruance, but this is a more modern and complex sound — and more adventurous since there are no human performance limits. It’s got the bravery of Sleepytime Gorilla Museum and Frank Zappa. Yet it sounds like none of those references. Some of it is mechanical, some of it is sloppy and ugly and heavy. Some of it is absurd and funny. There’s even a shredding country guitar solo that goes on for way too long!
And it has drum tracks by Morgan Ågren and Marco Minnemann. What? Yes. The disturbed individuals behind this album bring two of the world’s most creative drummers into their own strange world of Rejectionary Art. And it’s the most adventurous music I’ve heard out of Los Angeles in a long time.



Exocoetidae: Flying Fish

1 - We The Artists (featuring Morgan Ågren)
2 - This Hollywood Town
3 - Happiness Is Always Somewhere Else (feat. Al Pimentel)
4 - Funkuggah (featuring Dane Markanson, Jesse Malley, Luca Spanio, Gianni Rosati, Loyse Rosati)
5 - Childhood
6 - Little Cry
7 - Oh Life
8 - Rapture (featuring Marco Minnemann)
9 - Rupture (featuring Marco Minnemann)
10 - The Scientist and The Machine (featuring Oliver Vaid)

Related products